Seasons of the Church Year (Teacher's Guide)

Item # C-1245
$6.99 / each

Luther's Small Cat Discovers:
The Seasons of the Church Year

This booklet introduces students to the seasons or cycles of the liturgical Church year as we reflect upon the story of Christ and our life of faith in this world. It was written for a 3rd-4th grade reading level, but is flexible enough to be used for most elementary students.

Beginning with the season of Advent as the church hears the prophet’s cry to “prepare the way of the Lord,” we move forward to Christmas and the nativity of our Savior, Jesus Christ, and his incarnation among us. In Epiphany, we see his life and ministry, eventually leading through the darkness of his suffering and death in Lent. Then comes Easter, and the promise of new life begins with Christ’s resurrection from the dead, moving forward to Pentecost and the work of the Spirit among us, as we live as members of the Church that bears Christ’s holy name.

This book takes students through the church year, accompanied by Luther’s Small Cat, a character who is just as inquisitive and precocious as any student. May your journey through the church year bring you closer to Christ, who walks through each moment of life alongside you.


Lesson 1: Advent (The Angel’s Visit to Mary, Luke 1:26-38)
Lesson 2: Christmas (Jesus’ Birth in Bethlehem, Luke 2:1-20)
Lesson 3: Epiphany (The Visit of the Wise Men, Matthew 2:1-12)
Lesson 4: Lent (Palm Sunday, John 12:12-16)
Lesson 5: Easter (Easter Sunday, Luke 24:1-12; Jesus’ Ascension, Acts 1:6-11)
Lesson 6: Pentecost (The Day of Pentecost, Acts 2:1-7)